Can I just change the instrument cluster?

Problem with your Megane? Can't find an answer? Workshop manuals and technical notes are in here.

Moderators: q292u, Ray, AndyAdmin, Stranger

frankl
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2019 1:50 pm
Currently Drives:: Megane Mk2 CC

Can I just change the instrument cluster?

Postby frankl » Thu Mar 28, 2019 2:07 pm

When I bought my car a few weeks ago, it was less than clean inside. Yuck! It's had some hard scrubbing.

Unfortunately the instruments were covered in grime. After an attempt to clean them, the lower LCD is no longer working. I suspect that some liquid got down and the contacts need cleaning.

Question 1:

I know how to remove it and put it on a bench. Is it easy enough to take apart to clean properly (i.e. pop out the LCDs)?

Question 2:

I've noticed you can get complete instrument clusters on eBay for £20. Is that a better option, and can I just swap them out? This seems to be the implication, but seems too good to be true. I realize the odometer will be wrong.

Thanks, Frank.

User avatar
megane1600
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 1:20 pm
Currently Drives:: megane 2

Re: Can I just change the instrument cluster?

Postby megane1600 » Sun Apr 28, 2019 5:40 pm

you can buy a second hand one on ebay and replace it ,it will work,but you can also just use the front LCD part of the ebay one with your existing main cluster board.


Return to “Problems / Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests