1.5 dCi Alternator replaced (with a few photos)

Problem with your Megane? Can't find an answer? Workshop manuals and technical notes are in here.

Moderators: q292u, Ray, AndyAdmin, Stranger

fozberry

1.5 dCi Alternator replaced (with a few photos)

Postby fozberry » Mon May 25, 2015 1:39 pm

Hi all.

First time post here. I've lurked here for years looking for help and advice, but never felt the need to post anything. Well, this weekend I've had the dubious pleasure of removing, repairing and refitting my alternator. Since I'd not seen much information on this job, I thought I'd share it with you all.

About me:

Back in the late 1980s I worked as a mechanic for a few years. I don't consider myself to be a particularly highly skilled mechanic, but I can do most jobs. I've got a fairly typical home setup, with no access to shelter and only the most common tools at hand. Basically, if I can do this, just about anyone can.

The car:
2007 Renault Megane estate 1.5 dCI. 145,000 miles on the clock. Used for my 90-miles-a-day commute.

Symptoms:

The BATTERY LOW warning message appeared on my dash a few days ago. I knew my battery was on its way out (it was struggling to produce enough current to start the car in the winter) so I swapped this out first, but the message remained. I figured it was probably a problem with either the alternator or the regulator (which is fitted to the back of the alternator) so I set about removing it.

Notes before starting:

My first point of call was the Renault manual, and I would recommend that anyone doing any job they're not familiar with should read the manual first. In this instance though, I found it rather lacking and it seemed to show the most complicated way to do the job. So, shortly after starting, I resorted to figuring it out by myself.

Removing the alternator:

1. First things first, jack the car up and remove the driver's side front wheel.

2. Remove the wheel arch liner.