1.5 dCi "dead" no lights no dash lights, won't start...

Problem with your Megane? Can't find an answer? Workshop manuals and technical notes are in here.

Moderators: q292u, Ray, AndyAdmin, Stranger

Communist99
Currently Drives:: Renault Mégane black 5-door 1.5dci Tech Run 106

1.5 dCi "dead" no lights no dash lights, won't start...

Postby Communist99 » Sat Nov 19, 2011 4:04 pm

Sorry I'm a novice here so my detail may be a bit lacking.

Just come from the local garage. My gut instinct was to not go to them but I thought there's no way they could get an oil and filter change wrong.

One of the guys dropped the oil filter opening tool down near the oil filter and it must have hit the alternator I'm guessing. A big metal thing with what appears to be copper coloured coiling inside.

There were a lot of sparks.
Anyway he couldn't get the filter out so the first guy who was working on it came back to finish off the job. He got the filter changed, poured in the oil.
When we went to start the car, nothing. No dash lights, engine won't start. Headlights no go, no indicator lights etc.

They have no clue what's wrong and I'm desperate to get my car working for tomorrow as I'm a contractor and my income depends on my vehicle.

Please, any suggestions?

rjacko
Pass Plus
Currently Drives:: Renault Megane 1.9 dci Dynamique, 3dr 03 reg

Re: 1.5 dCi "dead" no lights no dash lights, won't start...

Postby rjacko » Sat Nov 19, 2011 8:23 pm

Sounds like tool defo shorted something out. First port of call to check battery is ok, then all fuses and relays.

Good luck with it, and hope your holding the garage accountable for any costs incurred to repair it.
3dr 03 Megane 1.9Dci, Dynamique, panoramic roof, keyless system, full leather, 6 cd changer, 17" Nervasport alloys

Communist99
Currently Drives:: Renault Mégane black 5-door 1.5dci Tech Run 106

Postby Communist99 » Sat Nov 19, 2011 10:22 pm

Thank you rjacko.